The town has been established approximately at the second half of 12th century. Successful glass works was set up thanks to large healthy woods there. As well as glass works were prosperous, refining, polishing and cutting followed. Almost two hundred years garnets and gems had been cutting in Svetla nad Sazavou, but as soon as the Socialism became this industry was abolished in Svetla.
The local chateau is one of the nicest edifices here. It stands at the left Sazava river bank. Originally it was a fortress, which has been rebuilt by order of Burian Trcka from Lipa into a chateau in 1567. The chateau is a two-story edifice with four wings comprising a courtyard with a fountain.
The church of St. Vaclav used to be a dean church extended in 1722 about side bodies and a gallery. The church tower has a traditional wooden floor. The indoor decoration is very precious, paintings by Brandl, the altar paintings by R. Muller from 1847 etc. A beautiful Baroque Bethlehem can be seen here at Christmas. The famous family of Adolf Trcka rests in here.
The town hall is from the turn of 18th and 19th century rebuilding into the today’s appearance in 1926. Nowadays it is one of the nicest houses in Svetla nad Sazavou.